Skip to main navigation.

About Eastern Maine Electric Cooperative

The Electric Cooperative Story


Eastern Maine Electric Co-op serves the easternmost continental border in the United States. The Co-op serves about 3,000 square miles of rural Maine, including parts of Aroostook, Penobscot and Washington Counties. 


Service Territory

EMEC serves the most rural territory of any utility in Maine, consisting of approximately 3,000 square miles (77 towns) in:

                •  Eastern Washington County

                •  Southern Aroostook County

                •  Western Penobscot County


Organizational Structure

Policy decisions for the Cooperative are made under the governance of the eleven-member Board of Directors, who are elected for three-year terms by the consumers in each of eleven zones. All employees and operational responsibilities are overseen by the Chief Executive Officer.


Chief Executive Officer: Scott M. Hallowell

Scott Hallowell is a Maine native who graduated from the University of Maine, Orono in 1991 with a B.S. degree in Business Administration.  After working out of state for a brief period, Scott joined Eastern Maine Electric as its Controller in 1994.  He advanced to the position of Chief Financial Officer, a position he held for several years before becoming EMEC’s Chief Executive Officer.


EMEC Facts and Figures (2016)

Average number of active accounts
Approximate Population of Service Area
Approximate number of miles of electric lines
Average Number of Employees
Approximate Annual MWh’s delivered


History (Significant Years)


1940: Established as Denny’s River Electric Cooperative in Meddybemps, Maine. Moved to Calais in 1953.
1958: Acquired St. Croix Electric Company in Calais and changed to current name.
1964: Merged with Kingman Electric Company (Kingman) and Farm-Home Electric Company (Patten).
1976: Acquired electrical assets of Woodland Water and Electric to complete service territory as it now exists.
Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
For Electricians and Members